Deutsch Intern
Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy



The process of Habilitation provides highly qualified early career researchers with an opportunity to obtain eligibility for a university professorship and allows independence in research and teaching. In conferring a Habilitation, the University formally acknowledges on the recommodation of the facutly that the conferee possesses the academic qualification and teaching skills required for appointment to a professorship in one of the fields in the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy.

Candidates may pursue a Habilitation in

  • Inorganic chemistry
  • Organic chemistry
  • Physical chemistry
  • Theoretical chemistry
  • Materials science
  • Biochemistry
  • Food chemistry
  • Pharmaceutical chemistry
  • Clinical pharmacy
  • Drug formulation and delivery 

The Habilitation Process

  1. Application for acceptance as a Habilitation candidate
  2. Presentation to introduce the prospective candidate (Vorstellungskolloquium) - acceptance as a Habilitation candidate
  3. Appointment of a mentoring committee (Fachmentorat)
  4. Intermediate evaluation (to be conducted approx. two years into the process)
  5. Completion of the candidate’s work: scientific evaluation (to be conducted approx. four years into the process)
  6. Public presentation and decision on the conferral of a licence to teach

Contact and more information

Ute Link

Zentralgebäude Chemie, Raum 029
Am Hubland, 97074 Würzburg

Telefon: 0931 31 85365
Telefax: 0931 31 84607

These candidates are currently pursuing their Habilitation at our Faculty:


Dr. Clemens Grimm

Nachwuchsgruppe am Lehrstuhl für Biochemie I

Lehrstuhl für Biochemie I
Theodor-Boveri-Institut für Biowissenschaften
Campus Hubland Süd
Am Hubland
97074 Würzburg

Tel: +49 931 31 85468

Dr. Karl Mandel

Leiter Partikeltechnologie am Fraunhofer-Institut für Silicatforschung ISC Würzburg

Fraunhofer-Institut für Silicatforschung ISC
Neunerplatz 2
97082 Würzburg

Tel: +49 931 4100 402


Synthese und Charakterisierung komplexer, nanostrukturierter Partikel mit kooperativen, funktionalen Eigenschaften

Funktionale Materialien


Dr. Crispin Lichtenberg

Nachwuchsgruppe am Institut für Anorganische Chemie

Institut für Anorganische Chemie
Campus Hubland Süd
Am Hubland
97074 Würzburg

Tel: +49 931 31 88257

Dr. Agnieszka Nowak-Król

Junior Research Group Leader at the Center for Nanosystems Chemistry CNC

Center for Nanosystems Chemistry CNC
Campus Hubland Süd
97074 Würzburg

Tel: +49 931 31 83774