Deutsch Intern
Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy

Facts and Figures

The Faculty of Science at the University of Würzburg was established and the mathematics and science branch of the Faculty of Philosophy closed in 1937. The Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy was established in the early 1970s and has been growing ever since.

Currently, it has 38 Professors, 14 of which are holding a Chair, and around 2,300 students (winter semester 2016/17). Around 51 per cent of our students are women.

But our Faculty has a much longer history. Click here to read more about the history of chemistry at JMU.

The list of our award-winning researchers is testament to our tradition of delivering excellence in research.