Deutsch Intern
Institute of Organic Chemistry

Siegfried Hünig Lecture 2015 Will Be Given by Ben L. Feringa


World renowned chemist Ben L. Feringa was happy to accept the invitation to give this year's Siegfried Hünig Lecture on May, 21st in Würzburg.

Prof. Ben L. Feringa
Prof. Ben L. Feringa

Ben L. Feringa, born in 1951 in the Netherlands, holds the prestigious position of Jacobus H. van‘t Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences at the University of Groningen and is the founding director of the Center for Systems Chemistry at the University of Groningen. In his career as an organic chemist he has been able to provide major contributions to a wide area of research topics including stereochemistry, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis, molecular switches and motors, self-assembly, molecular nanosystems and photopharmacology. Throughout his career he has authored over 750 publications and accumulated over 30,000 citations.

Feringa’s research has been recognized with a number of awards including the Pino Gold Medal of the Società Chimica Italiana (1997), the Körber European Science Award (2003), the Spinoza Award (2004), the Prelog Gold Medal for Stereochemistry (2005), the James Flack Norrish Award in Physical Organic Chemistry of the ACS (2007), the Paracelsus Medal of the Swiss Chemical Society (2008), the Chirality Medal (2009), the RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award (2011), the Alexander-von-Humboldt Award (2012), the Nagoya Gold Medal (2013) and an ACS Cope Scholar Award (2015). He was elected Foreign Honory member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and member and vice-president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. In 2008 he was appointed Academy Professor and was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands.

"Dynamic Molecular Systems, From Molecular Switches To Motors is the title chosen by Prof. Feringa for the Siegfried Hünig Lecture 2015 which will take place on May, 21st at 4:45 pm in lecture hall B, located in the central building of the chemistry center.

By E. Klaus, C. Stadler