Deutsch Intern
  • Group picture after the PhD Defense of Pascal Kunkel
  • Group seminar, vogelsburg 2019
Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie II

Prof. Dr. Tobias Hertel



Chair of Physical Chemistry II


Phone: +49-(0)931-31-86300 (direkt)
              +49-(0)931-31-86301 (Sekr.)



Tobias Hertel is chaired Professor at the Julius-Maximilians University in Würzburg, Germany. He received his Ph.D. degree in Physical Chemistry in 1995 from the Free University Berlin, for work done in the group of Gerhard Ertl at the Fritz-Haber-Institute of the Max-Planck-Society. After a two year postdoctoral visit to IBM’s T.J. Watson Research Center and the group of Phaedon Avouris, he completed his habilitation in experimental physics at the Free University of Berlin, and in 2004 accepted the offer for an Associate Professor position at Vanderbilt University. In 2008 he returned to Germany where he currently holds the Chair for Physical Chemistry II in the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy along with an adjunct Professorship in the Department of Physics at the JMU Würzburg.

Over the years, his research has touched a variety of themes ranging from ultrafast spectroscopy, the physics and chemistry of metal- and nano-carbon surfaces, interfaces, to nanoscale semiconductor optics and colloidal chemistry. His current research is focussed on experimental studies of photostimulated processes of intrinsic and doped low-dimensional semiconductors in the visible and infrared spectral ranges, the mechanisms underpinning nanotube colloidal chemistry, the mechanisms and kinetics of covalent chemical functionalization of carbon nanotubes as well as more recently, the utilization of AI and machine learning for developing new, low-cost tools for spectrometry.

Dr. Hertel has published over 100 scientific papers. He is founding organizer, chair, co-chair or advisory committee member of 19 international conferences, workshops and symposia and has served as department chair in Chemistry and Pharmacy at the JMU. He is associate editor with the Royal Society Open Science.