Elected Member of two Scientific Academies


Prof. Frank Würthner has been elected member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Both academies are thus honouring Würthner’s outstanding scientific achievements.

Prof. Dr. Frank Würthner and Prof. Dr. Jörg Hacker (Photo: Leopoldina/Scholz)

The new members ceremony at the Leopoldina took place at the 16th of March 2107, presided by Professor Jörg Hacker, who presented the certificate to Frank Würthner and other new academy members, which had been elected already in summer 2016.

Becoming an ordinary member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (Section III: Natural Sciences, Mathematics, Technology) is an equally prestigious honour that only few scientists from the University of Würzburg received. Among them are Würthner’s predecessor, Waldemar Adam, as well as chemists Holger Braunschweig and Todd Marder.

The Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BAdW), founded in in 1759, is one of the oldest and biggest scientific academies in Germany. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Alexander von Humboldt and Max Planck are among its most famous members. But besides being a society with such a long tradition, the academy is also an important research hub that is actively supporting fundamental research, especially long-term projects.

All ordinary members of the BAdW must have contributed significantly to the expansion of knowledge in their scientific discipline. Only the members of the academy may suggest candidates, and new members are elected on basis of their scientific reputation exclusively. The academy currently has 180 ordinary members and 136 corresponding members as well as two honorary members.


Prof. Dr. Frank Würthner, T: +49 931-85340, wuerthner@uni-wuerzburg.de