Arbeitsgruppe Braunschweig

Prof. Holger Braunschweig

Holger Braunschweig is head and chair of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Würzburg. He obtained his PhD and Habilitation with Prof. P. Paetzold (RWTH Aachen). He was post-doc with Prof. M. F. Lappert  at Sussex and held a position as Reader at Imperial College, London. He carried out seminal work on metal boron complexes, boron heterocycles, and boron-boron multiple bonds. His work was published in over 590 publications. His discoveries have been highlighted in a wide range of outlets, including New ScientistThe Times of London,ScienceNatureNature ChemistryChemical and Engineering NewsChemistry WorldSpektrumChemie in unserer Zeit, and Angewandte Chemie. He was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz award (2009), the RSC Main Group Chemistry Award (2014), and received the ArduengoSteinhoferBruker, andScotCHEM named visiting lectureships. He is a member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences, the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina), the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, and the DFG advisory panel for molecular inorganic chemistry.


2019 "Leibniz Lecture Tour", IIT Chennai, IIT Bangalore (IN)
2018 "JSPS Invitational Fellowship", lecture tour of Japan (JP)
2018 "IOCF Lectureship", Kyoto University (JP)
2018 "Reinhart Koselleck Grant" of the DFG
2017 "Leibniz Lecture Tour of Canada", DFG and the Universities of Ottawa and Calgary (CA)
2017 "Glenn Seaborg Lecture", University of California Berkeley (USA)
2016 "Frontiers Lectureship", Texas A&M University (USA)
2016 "Alfred Stock Gedächtnispreis 2016" of the GDCh
2015 Corresponding Member of the "North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the 
2015 ERC Advanced Grant "multiBB"
2014 "Main Group Award", Royal Society of Chemistry
2014 "Inaugural ScotCHEM Lectureship", Universities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Heriot-Watt, Strathclyde 
  and St. Andrews (Scotland, UK)
2014 "Bruker Lectureship", University of Toronto (CA)
2012 "Steinhofer Lectureship", University of Freiburg (D)
2011 ERC Advanced Grant "BORYLENEFUN"
2011 Member of the "Leopoldina - Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften"
2009 "Arduengo Lectureship", University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa (USA)
2009 Member of the "Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften"
2008 Laureate of the "Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis" (2009)
2001 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)

A full CV and detailed information regarding the employment history are available at